What are the 5 Precepts of the Catholic Church?

A lot of confusion has arisen lately as is to whether there is 6 precepts of the catholic church or whether there are only 5 precepts to the catholic church.

To avoid this confusion we will discuss the definite 5 precepts of the catholic church then discuss the 6th potential precept.

shallow focus photography of brown wooden floor signage
Confession, One of The Precepts
  1. You shall attend Mass on Sundays and holy days of obligation.

    Sunday mass is extremely important for Catholics and only in extreme circumstances should one not attend, during the coronavirus pandemic a lot of people were able to tune in to mass held via online video however one should always strive to attend Sunday mass aswell as all other days of obligation
  2. You shall confess your sins at least once a year.

    As stated in Canon 989 “All the faithful who have reached the age of discretion are bound faithfully to confess their grave sins at least once a year.”  Some say it is only necessary to confess if you have committed a grave sin, although we are of opinion it is best to confess your biggest sins every year.
  3. Receive The Eucharist.

    The third precept guarantees as a minimum the reception of the Lord’s Body and Blood in connection with the Paschal feasts, the origin and centre of the Christian liturgy. Jesus is the one bread. We are many different people, but when we share the one bread of the Eucharist, we become one body. In the Eucharist we are united to Jesus, and we are also united to each other.
  4. Observe the days fasting and abstinence.

    The fasting and abstinence helps strengthen our willpower and determination, helping us master our freedom from instincts and purify our hearts.

  5. The faithful are obliged to assist with the material needs of the Church, each according to his own ability.

    Wether you donate financially or help out organising events, whatever you can do to support the ongoing function of the church is most important

So now we have covered what the 5 precepts of the catholic church are, lets look at what the 6th precept of the catholic church is

The 6th precept of the catholic church is  “You shall observe the Church’s laws on marriage.”
Noted particularly in the Baltimore Catechism 3, the 6th precept of the Catholic Church, some say it is now omitted due to Pope Paul VI stance on mixed marriages .

I hope this has cleared up wether there are 5 or 6 precepts in the Catholic Church, following the five precepts helps keep us on the straight and narrow and focused on our faith.

1 thought on “What are the 5 Precepts of the Catholic Church?”

Leave a Comment

Join over 7500+ Subscribers!

Receive weekly news about new prayers and specials from our sponsors!

You have Successfully Subscribed!